Volodymyr's Hillbr> Home - Kiev Travel Guide - Parks and Squares - Volodymyr's Hill
Volodymyr Hill has become one of the most significant places of Kiev, many songs and verses have been dedicated to it in many paintings and photographs. However, the contemporary name appeared only in mid-19th century. Before that, the Hill was called Saint Michael (Mykhailivsky) Hill due to the monastery which stood at the top.
Volodymyrs Hill is a visit card of Kiev. It is a green and cozy place with old pavilions offering picturesque views on the left bank of the Dnepr River. On Volodymyrs Hill young people come to celebrate graduation from school and enjoy the first sunrise of their new life. It is also the place where just married couples arrive
The centre of the park is thought to be King Volodymyr the Great monument, opened in 1853. It gave the name to the hill. The monument was created by sculptors Demut-Malinovsky and Klodt and architect Ton.